Jaime Permuth, a MPS Digital Photography Department faculty member and alumnus (2009) and a graduate of the MFA Photography, Video and Related Media Department (1994) as well, is among just 15 people nominated for a 2012 Contemporary Artist Award by the Smithsonian American Art Museum. Established in 2001, the award recognizes an artist younger than 50 who has produced a significant body of work and consistently demonstrates exceptional creativity. Artists must be nominated by a juror to be considered for the award, which includes $25,000 intended to encourage the chosen artist’s future development and experimentation.

Previous winners were Pierre Huyghe (2010); Mark Dion (2008); Jessica Stockholder (2007); Matthew Coolidge, director of the Center for Land Use Interpretation (2006); Andrea Zittel (2005); Kara Walker (2004); Rirkrit Tiravanija (2003); Liz Larner (2002); and Jorge Pardo (2001). For more information about the award, visit the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s website.